Probably yet another help thread!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
Hi all, and loving your forum.

I'm looking for some advice. In my teens and young adult I played a lot of table tennis, and then for 15 years gave it up. When I started playing again just precovid, it was because I found some unopened rubbers in a box, put them on my blade, and have been enjoying that, but it's time to replace them, and the world is big and opinions many.

To describe my play, I play at a local club, not competitively, and I'm probably in the top 2 or 3 who play there. We don't have a coach it do any training really, just turn up and play.

I'm more of a middle distance looper /counter striker of the ball than an offensive player.

Currently I have an appelgren allplay blade which I've had 25 years, with a butterfly salvo speed on FH and yasaka mkV on BH.

Could I ask advice? Ideally I'd just like to replace the rubbers.

Many thanks,

James

ZFT

This user has no status.

ZFT

This user has no status.
Dec 2021
Damn here I was thinking OP was brokenball and mellowed out…

Yes Rakza 7 is easiest to begin with and relatively cheap, plus the majority of members here are familiar with it so can advise on your next journey if x characteristic of whatever from R7 is needed.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2022
Now we're talking old school gear hahaha the BTY Salvo rubbers were the BTY attempt to make the sriver a bit faster and spinnier in the 90's era.

The Donic Appelgreen Allplay is a wonderfull 5 ply all wood blade when it's new or not more than 5 years old. Yours is probably really, really slow now after 25 years, it's mostly a kind of defensive blade and you probably feels that it's not as fast as even 15 years ago.