Why does it seem like I play to the level of my opponent?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
i described what happened to my last tournament in the other thread where i lost to a beginner chopper with LP perhaps 300 or more points below me after winning 11-4 G1. then suddenly i missed cause i started moving less and focus less, and instead of changing tactics with tens of options available i just kept on playing the same and getting nervous and worse and one could have though i was a beginner as well.
Sometimes, this is about the opponent more than you, sometimes they go from chop to no spin and the other player doesn't adjust or look closely enough to see what the opponent is doing. (but I speaking about myself here, you are likely different.)

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
I've seen several players with similar problems, and they all have lots of coaching. For them, my observation is that they are particularly good at handling the orthodox two-wing looping opponent who would give them good quality topspin balls that they are very familiar with due to feeds from coaches. So when they play stronger opponents, they can stay in the topspin rallies and win some points.

But when they play against weaker players, sometimes they struggle with unorthodox techniques, in particular floats; on the other hand they can handle heavy backspin.

Not sure if this is anything similar to your situation.
Yes, I do experience some of this as well. But I would say the bigger issue is the "let Shaq shoot the 3 pointer" mentality that gets me in trouble.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
I feel you man. At my last tournament a few days ago, I was playing against a 1800~ level player I think. I won a game 11-1 and lead 2 games to 1 but ended up losing the match. I got smoked in the decider.