DHS H3N for a beginner

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2024
Background: very much a beginner, have been playing for a 1 year after 20+ year hiatus from the sport (used to play on my high school team). Getting regular coaching for the last 6 months, 2 months ago upgraded from a premade racket to a custom one with commercial DHS H3Neo on FH and hybrid rubber on BH.
Situation: my coach didn't care about my set up and was very much "let's work on your stroke, equipment is secondary" mentality, but he moved back to Taiwan this May and I started training with another one (based on his recommendation). The new coach says that I need to change from H3Neo right away because it's a pros rubber and developing with it further will cause issues with the stroke. He recommends going European/Japanese route as it's better for development, preferably Butterfly Rozena or Tenergy/Dignics if I can afford them.
Frankly, I did enjoy playing with H3Neo because the spin felt good, short game felt great and if I had a proper swing, it felt like I wasn't lacking anything in power. And I also quite liked the price factor, now that I have two setups both with H3N on FH (one for playing at work/with friends and 1 for training at the club) that I would need to replace.
But on the other hand, I understand that the point is that with Chinese rubber getting a proper swing takes better legwork and core engagement, and a lot more training that I can afford to do, having work and life commitments. It seems kind of silly that you have to train harder to be able to use cheaper equipment (usually it's the opposite in other sports afaik).

Appreciate any thoughts on this.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2024