Back to Forum

Poll: Who's right?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26
  1. TableTennisDaily is online now
    says TableTennisDaily 2,0 is live!
     
    Administrator 6,481 4,059
    TableTennisDaily's Avatar
    TableTennisDaily is online now
    says TableTennisDaily 2,0 is live!
     
    Administrator 4,059 6,481

    User Info Menu


    Oct 2010
    England
    4,059
    6,481
    22593
    Read 0 Reviews
    #1

    Who's right? Fan Zhendong or Kristian Karlsson?

    Today Fan Zhendong met Kristian Karlsson in the Hungarian Open and this point took place below...

    Who's right here, Fan Zhendong or Kristian Karlsson? Fan Zhendong is claiming the ball bounced twice....?

    The Following User Likes TableTennisDaily's Post:

    thomas.pong

    Out Now: TableTennisDaily.com 2.0

  2. TTFrenzy is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,454 1,996
    TTFrenzy's Avatar
    TTFrenzy is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,996 1,454
    #2
    twice on the table after the serve? or twice in karlsson's paddle? if its the latter then with the new rule the play is continuing normally if I remember correctly
    I suck real bad so I train to suck less

  3. Xylit is offline
    says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
     
    Senior TTD Member 731 568
    X
    Xylit is offline
    says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
     
    Senior TTD Member 568 731
    #3
    No one knows as the camera angle ist crap and the replay starts too late.

    The Following 3 Users Like Xylit's Post:

    anchorschmidt, JHB and 1 other


  4. TTHopeful is offline
    says Dima... Amazing...
     
    Master TTD Member 858 2,204
    TTHopeful's Avatar
    TTHopeful is offline
    says Dima... Amazing...
     
    Master TTD Member 2,204 858

    User Info Menu

    #4
    Does anyone have a dif camera angle? Private recording?

  5. ronz91 is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Advanced TTD Member 90 298
    R
    ronz91 is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Advanced TTD Member 298 90
    #5
    Name:  231fk9.jpg
Views: 2291
Size:  33.5 KB

    The Following 13 Users Like ronz91's Post:

    anchorschmidt, JST and 11 others


  6. Atas Newton is offline
    says CHOLE!
     
    Senior TTD Member 1,171 963
    Atas Newton's Avatar
    Atas Newton is offline
    says CHOLE!
     
    Senior TTD Member 963 1,171
    #6
    Quote Originally Posted by TTFrenzy
    twice on the table after the serve? or twice in karlsson's paddle? if its the latter then with the new rule the play is continuing normally if I remember correctly
    there's a rule that allows you to hit the ball twice? There was a replay later on from FZD's perspective more or less, Karlsson's racket was very close to the ball, but the ball's rotation didn't change at all. Its path however appeared to bend very very slightly.

  7. RidTheKid is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,140 1,662
    R
    RidTheKid is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,662 1,140
    #7
    I know of no such rule. I'd be interested to know more about this rule in that case. Anyone?

    Quote Originally Posted by Atas Newton
    there's a rule that allows you to hit the ball twice? There was a replay later on from FZD's perspective more or less, Karlsson's racket was very close to the ball, but the ball's rotation didn't change at all. Its path however appeared to bend very very slightly.

  8. thomas.pong is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 767 1,609
    thomas.pong's Avatar
    thomas.pong is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 1,609 767

    User Info Menu

    #8
    I'd like to see a better camera angle at the right time. I have a feeling FZD is right. I like both players reaction here and FZD's English.

    The Following 2 Users Like thomas.pong's Post:

    Ioiettino and StehTischtennis


  9. Xylit is offline
    says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
     
    Senior TTD Member 731 568
    X
    Xylit is offline
    says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
     
    Senior TTD Member 568 731
    #9
    Hitting the ball twice is allowed if it is not done deliberately. If the ball touches your finger first and then the racket that is a legal double hit for example.

  10. talbon is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 163 139
    T
    talbon is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Established TTD Member 139 163

    User Info Menu


    Mar 2017
    Christmas Island
    139
    163
    695
    Read 0 Reviews
    #10
    Both players agree on whatever happens. No one is wrong. No drama, thread title's a bit confusing ;0.

    The Following 2 Users Like talbon's Post:

    anchorschmidt and safumin


  11. 42andbackpains is offline
    says i need some popeyes chicken
     
    Advanced TTD Member 441 261
    42andbackpains's Avatar
    42andbackpains is offline
    says i need some popeyes chicken
     
    Advanced TTD Member 261 441
    #11
    I know this rule since i am a club umpire. If the ball has a double bounce on your racket. As long as the ball is hit below the wrist and you are doing one continuous motion. The hit is still considered as legal and in play. I first thought this was a weird rule, but thats how it goes. So Karlson probably knew the rule and FZD didn't.

    The Following 2 Users Like 42andbackpains's Post:

    Ioiettino and thomas.pong

    Last edited by 42andbackpains; 01-21-2018 at 05:24 AM.
    One day at a time.
    Gambler Fire Dragon Touch 88.5
    T05 Hard & Dignics 05

  12. Der_Echte is offline
    says Grand Consultant to the Office of the Goon Squad
     
    Master TTD Member 11,142 10,947
    Der_Echte's Avatar
    Der_Echte is offline
    says Grand Consultant to the Office of the Goon Squad
     
    Master TTD Member 10,947 11,142

    User Info Menu

    #12
    I got called for a double hit at US Open in the U2000C semis on a ball I hit that was a solid hit haha... I didn't want to make a scene and storm off to the referee, I let it slide. It was early in the game and I ended up winning that game anyway.
    President, Korea Foreign Table Tennis Club. Hit us up on TTD or Facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/koreaforeignttc

    Janitor at NexyUSA TT Equipment Shop
    http://www.nexyusa.com

    View our Lame Nexy USA corporate FB page
    http://www.facebook.com/nexyusa

  13. Atas Newton is offline
    says CHOLE!
     
    Senior TTD Member 1,171 963
    Atas Newton's Avatar
    Atas Newton is offline
    says CHOLE!
     
    Senior TTD Member 963 1,171
    #13
    Quote Originally Posted by 42andbackpains
    I know this rule since i am a club umpire. If the ball has a double bounce on your racket. As long as the ball is hit below the wrist and you are doing one continuous motion. The hit is still considered as legal and in play. I first thought this was a weird rule, but thats how it goes. So Karlson probably knew the rule and FZD didn't.
    the alleged double hit wasn't made in a single motion, the first contact was during the backhand flick over the table, the second one is what you see on the OP's replay. Here's a better replay:
    https://youtu.be/q5NO5XUDLAg?t=1363

    The Following 7 Users Like Atas Newton's Post:

    42andbackpains, akoozab and 5 others


  14. 42andbackpains is offline
    says i need some popeyes chicken
     
    Advanced TTD Member 441 261
    42andbackpains's Avatar
    42andbackpains is offline
    says i need some popeyes chicken
     
    Advanced TTD Member 261 441
    #14
    Quote Originally Posted by Atas Newton
    the alleged double hit wasn't made in a single motion, the first contact was during the backhand flick over the table, the second one is what you see on the OP's replay. Here's a better replay:
    https://youtu.be/q5NO5XUDLAg?t=1363
    Now that i see this new angle, Yes then the point definitely goes to FZD. Thanks for clearing it up.

    The Following User Likes 42andbackpains's Post:

    thomas.pong

    One day at a time.
    Gambler Fire Dragon Touch 88.5
    T05 Hard & Dignics 05

  15. Der_Echte is offline
    says Grand Consultant to the Office of the Goon Squad
     
    Master TTD Member 11,142 10,947
    Der_Echte's Avatar
    Der_Echte is offline
    says Grand Consultant to the Office of the Goon Squad
     
    Master TTD Member 10,947 11,142

    User Info Menu

    #15
    A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held
    in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist.
    if an opponent deliberately strikes the ball twice in succession;
    The quotes include the ITTF rules verbage regarding a double hit.

    The Following User Likes Der_Echte's Post:

    guybr50

    President, Korea Foreign Table Tennis Club. Hit us up on TTD or Facebook
    http://www.facebook.com/koreaforeignttc

    Janitor at NexyUSA TT Equipment Shop
    http://www.nexyusa.com

    View our Lame Nexy USA corporate FB page
    http://www.facebook.com/nexyusa

  16. TableTennisDaily is online now
    says TableTennisDaily 2,0 is live!
     
    Administrator 6,481 4,059
    TableTennisDaily's Avatar
    TableTennisDaily is online now
    says TableTennisDaily 2,0 is live!
     
    Administrator 4,059 6,481

    User Info Menu


    Oct 2010
    England
    4,059
    6,481
    22593
    Read 0 Reviews
    #16
    Other angle via Ma Short TT

    The Following 3 Users Like TableTennisDaily's Post:

    Gourav Acharya, Suga D and 1 other

    Out Now: TableTennisDaily.com 2.0

  17. Xylit is offline
    says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
     
    Senior TTD Member 731 568
    X
    Xylit is offline
    says ┌П┐(°_°)┌П┐
     
    Senior TTD Member 568 731
    #17
    Does not look like he hit the ball twice.

    The Following 2 Users Like Xylit's Post:

    Suga D and thomas.pong


  18. fireflies is offline
    says Hello from Vietnam. If you visit Hanoi, to have some game, contact me by phone number (84) 96..116..0088 via message, Viber, Zalo,.
     
    TTD Member 5 10
    fireflies's Avatar
    fireflies is offline
    says Hello from Vietnam. If you visit Hanoi, to have some game, contact me by phone number (84) 96..116..0088 via message, Viber, Zalo,.
     
    TTD Member 10 5
    #18
    He missed the ball at first shot, but he did not contact the ball. So I think this is legal. No rule restricts players to make 2 shots. It will be illegal if he contacts the ball twice.

    The Following 2 Users Like fireflies's Post:

    Suga D and thomas.pong

    Hello from Vietnam. If you visit Hanoi, contact me by phone or WhatsApp to have some games. My phone number is (+84) 961160088

  19. Suga D is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 3,909 3,231
    Suga D's Avatar
    Suga D is offline
    This user has no status.
     
    Master TTD Member 3,231 3,909

    User Info Menu

    #19
    Quote Originally Posted by TableTennisDaily
    Other angle via Ma Short TT

    Whoa! Fan Zhendong a cheater? Just look at that smirk at 0:14 min after he turns away from Karlsson.
    Didn´t expect him to find the necessity to do that...

    Damn, these Jedi Mind tricks, again...
    However, fantastic reaction by both.
    Last edited by Suga D; 01-23-2018 at 08:15 PM.

  20. chuckjordan2 is offline
    says Lockdown and no TT for 18 months, I have taken up chess and cycling .
     
    Advanced TTD Member 226 327
    chuckjordan2's Avatar
    chuckjordan2 is offline
    says Lockdown and no TT for 18 months, I have taken up chess and cycling .
     
    Advanced TTD Member 327 226
    #20
    So what did the Umpire/Referee call ? Anything?

    Just replay the serve, and afterwards go share a beer. Make the Umpire/Referee buy the first round.

    Problem solved.

    The Following User Likes chuckjordan2's Post:

    Suga D


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Create a new Topic:
Title is required.