Do TT pros use what they endorse?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2023
Hello. Noob here coming from the tennis camp. Was wondering how much customization is done with the pros? Does the general public have access to the same equipment they use? Does static weight, swing weight, and balance point apply with TT? Curious to know any similarities.

Reactions: allfj
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
May 2012
I'd actually say that compared to 10-15 years ago, it's an astounding 'yes', but more from the standpoint of pros actually using their sponsor's equipment instead of everyone using tenergy like during that time period. Every manufacturer makes good material now.

But for 'pro' versions of things, seems to be a mixed back of pros getting a model that's not out to the public but is on the ittf approved list (eg - Rasanter c55, V>15 Sticky, G1 50, etc), or butterfly pros getting something special. I thought it was interesting to hear Heming Hu talk about how based on his experience hitting with other pros rackets that the tenergy or dignics that guys like Boll and Dima are given is very different compared to the stuff you and I can get, but that the Hurricane the CNT are playing with is pretty much the same shit we can get. People often would say it's the opposite. I've only used a CNT players racket one time (Zhou Qihao's racket), but I thought the fabled differences just came out at a point beyond my ability because it felt about the same as the hurricane I was using.

When it comes to weight though, everyone is different. I know Boll for example is very particular about how much each sheet of his rubber weighs. Most ams care about blade weight even. Some players care and some don't so much. Any pro sponsored player I'm sure can get rubber weights they want though.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2023