Next step to improve: flicking the serve return

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
I think the next step to improve for me would be to get better at flicking the serve return. I'm really bad at this shot right now. I generally play the flick in a very safe manner. But it gives the opponent a good opportunity to attack. So I need to practice being more aggressive and hitting a higher quality flick return. I'm not good at doing this right now, as I make too many errors at the moment when I try to be more aggressive.

Its' really the dead-ball serve that gives me trouble. When the serve is underspin, I can just push it back. When it has topspin, I can kinda punch it back. But when its a no-spin dead ball, it requires me to be more active. My default is to do a safe flick return. Any advice on how I can do the flick return more aggressively?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2020
elbow to be lifted more upwards and then you can generate more power and swing from your forearm. Make sure your elbow is stable as this is then used as pivot point.
( addition to above information )

This user has no status.
No spin dead balls can be pushed short. Just contact the ball on the side with a 90 deg ish racket angle, and thrust forwards like a fencer. It'll be short.

I also like the sideswipe a lot if it is a dead ball. Easy to control and doesn't take a lot of energy.

This user has no status.
With aggressive serve receives, you need to involve body rotation and weight transfer. Although the table is in the way, you can still throw your upper body weight clockwise (for BH flicks/chiquita), and anticlockwise (for FH flicks).

Reactions: Choosikick
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2023
When you have the right timing, you can flick pretty much anything.