Difference between the same blades

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2017
Hello. When I started playing TT and looking for the blade that would suit me I was surprised by the fact that the same blades can different so much. For example I had one TB ZLF loved the way ball contacted the blade and bought another TB ZLF and it was compete disaster..I don't know how to call it in English but some blades have like a blank/empty/dull bounce of the ball and other blades even the same type a sharp very direct contact with the ball. .. I have the same issue with two Acoustic blades..one sharp..other little dull of course with the same rubbers.. I know every piece of wood is different but they seem like totally different blades. .

Tom

This user has no status.

Tom

This user has no status.
Oct 2010
Read 7 reviews
Yes sometimes this can be the case with the same blade and they feel quite different, as Lord pippington said above its good to get the same weight because there can be fairly big differences between each one. Also once you play with a blade for a while the characteristics will change slightly as the wood softens up from hitting a lot of balls and sweat from your hand etc. For example the longer you use a blade the more different a brand new one will feel when you change. But yes it can be frustrating for sure!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2017
Is there any way you can check if it will have more sharp/direct bounce...contact with the ball..without gluing rubbers? I really hate when the contact is muted..maybe that's the case with blades which are lighter than they should be? E.g. if the blade should be 85g and it waights 80g...than the hit of the ball is muted?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2014
Read 3 reviews