HELP!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2024
Hi all,

I played table tennis on and off in my early teens but never committed to it. I'm 18 and I started playing again early last year and have fallen in love. I currently play with a petr Korbel allwood off; I don't have any particular issues with the blade but as its the first blade I've played properly with I'm not confident I would be able to identify any issues with it. My concern with the blade is that its very old. It wasn't bought brand new and was instead traded with a friend of a friend of a friend and the blade is at least a decade old; I've read online that blades can deteriate over time and wonder if it would be sensible to replace/upgrade. I'm not sure if I should buy the Korbel again or upgrade to something else. I play with Tibhar Aurus on my FH and Joola Energy on BH, I cant remember the thickness on the rubbers as my dad purchased them for me ( I should also mention my dad and uncle are high rankled players for my area, my uncle has recommendations for what i should purchase but i was interested as to what people on here thought); they're both the same thickness and the thickness will be on the higher end as my dad reckons when talking to coaches over the years lots of them reckon a controlled blade is enough to learn technique and thicker rubbers are fine to learn with especially if you're trying to reach the higher end of the game. In regards to my game I'd say I'm an advanced beginner. I belong to two clubs, both with very high ranking players, where I train twice a week and play league games a minimum of once a week sometimes two. My backhand seems to be my more natural and consistent stroke and this is where I have the most success when tryin to loop. My forehand is not as good; In training its okay and relatively consistent but when I get into a game i seem to lose that ability. I stop playing how I perform in training and become a lot more passive. I like playing an offensi