Youth coach: fun pingpong games

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2010
Hi,

since recently I've started co-coaching the youngsters of our clubs. We always give basic exercises and after that there is a fun thing/game the last 15 minutes, like emperor's game, round the table running, playing in teams... etc etc.

So I was wondering, if someone else is also a coach and if you would also know some fun games of fun exercises to give. The training also has to be amusing for the youngsters or otherwise they won't come back.

Cheers!

says Check out my Podcast Talkin' Smash!
says Check out my Podcast Talkin' Smash!
TeamJOOLA
Oct 2010
Read 12 reviews
I've been coaching juniors since I was just 16 myself since there were no coaches where I lived before, now I'm an ITTF level 1 coach and am about to start coaching in all the schools in my region.

I've always tried to make coaching the kids fun, it's the best way to get them to keep coming back until the point where you know they are ready to get stuck in to the hard stuff.

A game I always love to use is splitting the group into two teams and using one table, one person from each team plays at once and it's knockout. The team which beats all of the other teams players first wins a point and depending on how many in the group you can say first to 11 points or first to 5 points. If there is a player who no one can seem to beat, sometimes I will give them a lifeline and jump in and knock that kid out so others can play too haha.

Also I like to do stuff like serving for targets like lollipops and chocolate bars. It's good to give them incentives and rewards and stuff. With the youngest group of kids we always seem to end up playing DONKEY where u run around the table and hit the ball when ur at each end and if u miss u get a letter etc.

The other thing u can do is play up and down tables to 11 but change so they have to play pengrip, right handed, only forehands, only backhands etc. :)