Choice a new blade

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2017
Hi guys.
I'm want to change my blade but i don't know who choice, I have just two options the Donic World Champion 89 Waldner OFF or Donic Ovtcharov carbospeed, my actual blade it's a Tibhar Rapid Carbon Light and I'm really feel comfortable with OFF+ blades i'm a beginner/mid player.
my rubbers are FH: Skyline 3-60 polyball BH: Tibhar Genius Sound

I know that the Waldner it's an off and i don't if it will be considerably too slow compared with the tibhar's.

I have been reading some review of the blade in this page and i really don't know who choice.

help please :(
PD: Sorry for my english i'm not a native speaker.

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
This is actually a bit sad. If you are a "beginner/intermediate" level player and you think Off+ is actually good for you, it will be hard to give you any information that will actually be useful to your needs and your developing skills.

If that is the case that you are at a beginner level and think you are doing well with Off+ blades, just keep what you have or choose whichever blade you think you will like better.

But I will give you a little information first.

Most beginners/intermediate level players think they are okay at handling blades that are really just faster than what would be good for their development. It is a very standard thing.

However, those fast blades throw the ball out before it has stayed on the rubber long enough for you to do anything to it. With Off+ blades, it takes very good technique to get the ball to stay in contact with the topsheet and sponge of your rubber for long enough for you to learn how to REALLY generate good spin.

Blades that are wood, All+/Off- 5 plies with a semi-soft top ply like Limba give you more of an ability to hold the ball in contact with the rubber so you can LEARN how to generate exponentially larger amounts of spin.