Another Beginner Level Equipment Advice Question

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
Hi,

I'm pretty new to table tennis on the proper side of things. I started trying to learn how to play correctly around the start of the year, but I haven't yet had any formal coaching/training. I'm a fairly sporty person and feel like I have at least a baseline understanding of the beginner strokes.

My question is my wife bought me a premade Palio Master 2 racket off Amazon because I heard good things about it, but i'm wondering if as I start to go to a club and start training if I should have instead went with a custom blade/rubber combo.

Either something like:

Stiga Allround Classic
Dawei 2008XP
Dawei 2008XP

Or

Butterfly Primorac
Mark V or Srivers

I guess I just have no comparison with the Palio and the CJ8000 rubber combo to know if the feel is good or not. It's not easy for me to get to a club until september. I just bought a table for my home and I just want to feel confident that the paddle I'm using is at least not hindering me in any way. It's probably more of a mental thing.

I'd also like to know that when I do get around to upgrading I can still feel good about the blade I'm using with newer faster rubbers.

says The sticky bit is stuck.
says The sticky bit is stuck.
Jan 2017
Read 8 reviews
I don't know about the Palio Master 2 premade. Most premades I've seen weren't too usable, and the rubbers are rarely detachable/replacable. So even if the blade is good, it's a throwaway when rubbers wear out.

The combos you mention are excellent for starters until well into the higher levels. The Butterfly Petr Korbel is also in high regard, as is the Stiga Allround Evolution, Stiga Allround NCT, the Yasaka Sweden Classic, the Yasaka Sweden Extra. And the (very cheap) Danwei rubbers will go with any of them, as will Mark V, Sriver S or L (I slightly rate the latter higher) or Sriver FX. Or Xiom Vega Pro, which I'm rather fond of myself.