This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2024
Hi all - I could use some advice on a new setup. I've been playing for about 2-3 years, but over the past 6 months I finally started taking lessons (though only sporadically--1 a week at best). I'm rated roughly 1400 in the USATT system. I am learning to be a more offensive player, though if I'm honest at the moment I'm more of a defensive/all-round player. I'll attack when the opportunity arises, but my defense is currently better than my offense.

Ever since I started, I've been using a cheap DHS 4002C blade. It came from a pre-made setup and I just ripped the rubber off (with much effort...). I have been using Tenergy 05 on the forehand and Bluestorm Z3 on the backhand. I suspect that the Tenergy 05 is too fast for me. I send topspin shots long off the table regularly, even when I feel like my form is otherwise good. I would like to upgrade my blade and change my rubbers to something that will be easier for me to control so I can continue working on my form.

I would welcome any input on what setups to consider. My coach suggested a Viscaria with Glayzer rubber. While I'm inclined to trust my coach, based on reviews online, I worry the Viscaria might still be too fast for me. Because of that, I've also been looking at the Primorac, though I have no idea what rubbers to pair that with. Let me know what you think!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2016
If you’re getting coaching and are around USATT 1400, you could probably learn to handle Viscaria + Glayzer. Or try Glazyer 09c - most people complain it’s way too slow, but maybe that’s a good thing in this case. Alternatively, the Primorac sounds good, or even a Korbel. The Korbel I think ends up more head-heavy due to the larger head size. I’ve also heard (but have not used) Fastarc G1 is less bouncy than T05. I also really like Victas V20 Double Extra for the forehand. It’s a bit hard for the backhand at that level.

Reactions: sk8uno