Daily Table Tennis Chit Chat

says toooooo much choice!!
Jul 2020
Read 11 reviews
I don't even think there is a 5 ply vs Carbon debate seriously anymore with the new plastic ball. The debate is really whether one should learn TT with a really fast blade and what it means to be a really stiff and fast blade. That's why I brought in the blade frequency chart to take the subjectivity out of it. Unless you are playing a smash/hitting style, anything above 1600Hz is definitely insane, and if you are a beginner anything above 1400Hz or even 1300Hz might be a bit much, absolute beginners should be closer to 1100Hz. It isn't just about All Wood, after all, a 1-ply hinoki is all wood, it is about what a reasonable things to use to build your game. Viscaria, especially the older slower ones, are very reasonable blades, more so with the plastic ball. 1-ply hinoki is closer to Garaydia T-5000/Schlager Carbon than to Viscaria.
1100Hz is a rocket launcher compared to my SDC 7+2 ply blade, which is rated at around 980Hz!!!
I have a TAMCA 5000, with the old smaller celluloid balls and Sriver I could handle the speed.
I think that even though the ball is bigger, and spin is (supposedly) less. It’s the modern rubbers that contribute more to the speed nowadays, spring sponges etc.
The reason I say this is because when I started playing again and stuck on a couple of sheets of Mantra M, it was too fast for me!!

Reactions: UpSideDownCarl
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2023
1100Hz is a rocket launcher compared to my SDC 7+2 ply blade, which is rated at around 980Hz!!!
I have a TAMCA 5000, with the old smaller celluloid balls and Sriver I could handle the speed.
I think that even though the ball is bigger, and spin is (supposedly) less. It’s the modern rubbers that contribute more to the speed nowadays, spring sponges etc.
The reason I say this is because when I started playing again and stuck on a couple of sheets of Mantra M, it was too fast for me!!