Graph comparing speed (output) vs input of different rubber types

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2024
1712085514699.png

Edit: 2-4-'24: adding the latest graph here so that this is the thumbnail instead of the ERT pic below. For the latest graphs, see the latest posts.

Hi all, as a beginner I'm trying to make sense of the different rubber types.
  • ESN rubbers are non-linear, Chinese rubbers are typically more linear.
  • Soft sponges activate at lower stroke speeds, but they top out earlier when you hit through them.
There's a graph online (from EmRatTich/Pingsunday) that compares the ESN vs the Linear rubbers:
p1.png

This graph is helpful in udnerstanding. However I wanted to add rubber hardness to the graph, to better understand the larger picture. With some messing around in Excel I came to the following:

Image removed. See latest version in my last post.

Without taking into account rubber thickness and type of stroke (flat vs super loopy), would this be generally correct?

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2016
Read 3 reviews
  • Soft sponges activate at lower stroke speeds, but they top out earlier when you hit through them.
There's a graph online (from EmRatTich/Pingsunday) that compares the ESN vs the Linear rubbers:
p1.png

This graph is helpful in udnerstanding. However I wanted to add rubber hardness to the graph, to better understand the larger picture. With some messing around in Excel I came to the following:

View attachment 28782

Without taking into account rubber thickness and type of stroke (flat vs super loopy), would this be generally correct?
I use 40 degree old H3 (tacky) on my BH. The curve goes a bit exponential actually. It will take me quite a bit of effort to get enough speed (which I prefer). E.g. I put in 5 effort = power 3, 6 effort = power 3.5 but when I give 8 effort = power 9

Newer H3 (non tacky) is a lot more linear

Reactions: Johnniedarko
This user has no status.