psychological help needed for someone starting with team games.

This user has no status.
Hey,

i am fairly new to the game as a team. I would say my play overall is pretty good since i started playing when i was like 11, but i stopped playing for 8 years now and got into a club again who put me into a team already.

Whenever i play though i can convert nothing from my training. Like not even basics. I just stand there frozen and fearful of playing the ball, leading to bad decisions and even worse touches.

( for context: i lost 13/13 games this season against people who are objectively " way worse" than me )

So here is my question: How where you doing psychologially when you started and how did you improve that ?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2023
Simple answer ( imo) :
2 main differences between training and competitive matches is this:
1. Higher level of stress in mind and body during matches compared to training
2. Different thought processes, goals and values during the match

Stress is a complex phenomenon but this should help you get an idea of it.

Simple steps towards solution:
Regarding stress:

- increase intensity and competitive mindset during training ( training with higher stress)

- lower stress using techniques, phrases, reminder or things to calm your nerves during the game and bring you into the moment and a calmer state of mind ( playing with lower stress )
( Visualization, Cues and reminders about your goals, Conscious deep breathing, some movement shaking it off. etc. ...)

- In the long term,
figure out the root cause of what is stressing you, and learn to deal with that
The fear of losing is just the most prominent in the moment, but its not what you actually fear
you wont die or feel a massive pain by losing the match, you wont become homeless and your loved ones will not leave and hate you, you are not in an immediate danger or threat during a match ( i hope so at least)