Service receive of left/right sidespin

This user has no status.
​​For the common sidespins I know that the racket has to angle either towards left or right depending on the type of serve they doing.

For example if opponent serve standard pendulum or reverse pendulum or backhand serve or punch serve, also if he is right or left handed, it all produces different kind of sidespins.

When I am receiving service is there any way that's fast and easy to remember in order to familiarize myself/memorize which way i need to angle the racket in every scenario

Being a noob myself, Because of combination of Left right/ hand players and all sorts of different serves sometimes I don't react fast enough and as a result I might angle racket to the complete opposite side and the sidespin makes the ball go out completely, or lands on an awkward spot ready for opponent to attack.

What i do currently is when i see a serve i angle my racket to the direction the opponent BEGAN his stroke. Not sure if there's a better way

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2016
I think you will get better against this when you get more experience. Try to play with as many different players as possible and you will learn faster.

It is hard to give an answer how to return all different kinds of serves, without seeing them. There are also alot of ways you could return a serve. If we try to make it simple you can topspin the ball(loop or flip) or push the ball. If it is sidebackspin, or backspin ball it is proably easiest to push back. It is also possible to loop the ball if the serve is long. If it sidetopspin, nospin or topspin it is proably easiest to flip if the ball if it is short and loop if the ball is long. Many people also forget that you can push with the spin or against the spin. Try to do this and you will proable see that you can return different sidepsin serves easier against or with the spin.