Shakehand on a J-pen blade?

Wuh

This user has no status.
This is a stupid question but is it possible to play shakehand on a J-pen racket? I have been switching between penhold and shakehand a lot recently and I found that I much prefer a Jpen racket due to the light weight and comfort on the hand although I seem to play a lot better using shakehand. I’m pretty new to table tennis (been playing for a bit over 1 year now although I took a long break and started again about 1 month ago) and I just want to see what’s possible. I was thinking that I could switch between Jpen and Shakehand whilst I play but I want to see what people with more experience have to say about it. I’d be happy to take recommendations.

says Gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci...
says Gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci gang, gucci...
Jul 2014
Biggest barrier is the shape of the handle. But if you've been playing with the setup in your signature compared to a shakehand setup with double inverted, that might be the reason why it is lighter, long pips carry much less weight than smooth rubber in general.

Reactions: Wuh
says Buttefly Forever!!!
says Buttefly Forever!!!
Mar 2021
This is a stupid question but is it possible to play shakehand on a J-pen racket? I have been switching between penhold and shakehand a lot recently and I found that I much prefer a Jpen racket due to the light weight and comfort on the hand although I seem to play a lot better using shakehand. I’m pretty new to table tennis (been playing for a bit over 1 year now although I took a long break and started again about 1 month ago) and I just want to see what’s possible. I was thinking that I could switch between Jpen and Shakehand whilst I play but I want to see what people with more experience have to say about it. I’d be happy to take recommendations.
No. You have to choose.

Reactions: Wuh and jbvttcc
says Serve, top, edge. Repeat.
says Serve, top, edge. Repeat.
May 2020
Read 1 reviews