Another EJ thread... with some twist

says Buttefly Forever!!!
says Buttefly Forever!!!
Mar 2021
Hi fellow good members of this wonderful and spectacular community,

Not asking for myself but helping a fellow club member.

1. Inquirer is a fairly advanced veteran player with provincial wins in the past. He uses J-Pen Darker Speed 90 with Tenergy / Dignics and no rubber on the BH side. He told me age is catching up and he cannot run as well as his younger days and using J-Pen is very taxing ( FH dominant ala Ryu Seung Min / Kim Taek Soo style )

2. He is looking for a five ply all wood SHAKEHAND blade with one side using Long Pips in mind. He is willing to relearn with a completely new set-up.

3. Any recommendations? I am not good with pimple set up hence I am asking here.

4. Player is an old timer and not so good with using English language and using IT device. Hence I am assisting him with this question.

Thank you all.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
I would highly recommend simply putting LP on the penhold BH rather than a complete switch to shakehand which means relearning almost everything. It is one of the most effective styles I've seen at amateur high level TT. Heck some players with this style have won against some state/national level players here.

So you retain the strong af penhold FH and short game, but on the BH side you can use TPB inverted and RPB long pips, with twiddling even possible with Cpen. You can do all the long pips sideswipes, punches, chop blocks with the LP RPB with no issues. It becomes a nightmare for the opponent to deal with such degree of variation which will give plenty of opportunities to finish off with the penhold FH.

This user has no status.