what is the difference between hardness/softness and thick/thin in table tennis

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2023
I'm new to these equipments and got confuse about hardness/softness and thickness/thin (like 1.5mm to 2.0 or max). I looked at tabletennis 11 and not all their rubbers have that information and sometimes the rubbers will indicated hard or soft but doesn't say anything about thick or thin or when it says thick/thin but doesn't say hard or soft. Can someone with the knowledge please explain the differences?

thanks,

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2013
Read 3 reviews
Welcome to the world of equipment

Thin/thick etc I don't normally use, but it will refer to the thickness of the sponge (1.5mm/2.0mm/max etc).
The law of table tennis restricts rubbers (plus sponge) to be a max of 4mm.
The topsheet (rubber surface) would be some size and the the sponge thickness would be the other part. So say a Max sponge rubber would likely just be around 4mm (ie 2.2mm sponge + 1.8mm top sheet)

Then the soft, medium, hard would refer to the hardness of the sponge. Some using "numbers", some uses "text"

IE Stiga Mantra H (Hard) or Mantra M (Medium) or Mantra S (Soft)
IE Gewo Nexxus 48 (Hard) or Nexxus 45 (Medium)
IE Butterfly Tenergy 05 Hard (Hard) or Tenergy 05 (Medium) or Tenergy 05FX (Soft)

There is a scale for the measurements, known as Shore A, B, C, D, O
I think the below 2 can pretty much sum it up for you.

RadVeOhTaAU.jpg

Rubber-Hardness.jpg.webp

Last edited:
Reactions: UpSideDownCarl
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2023
Welcome to the world of equipment

Thin/thick etc I don't normally use, but it will refer to the thickness of the sponge (1.5mm/2.0mm/max etc).
The law of table tennis restricts rubbers (plus sponge) to be a max of 4mm.