Big problem with forehand topspin technique

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2015
Read 4 reviews
Two days ago my coach told me that since i started playing in his club(about one and a half years ago) i have been making a certain mistake when executing the forehand topspin.When i first started palying table tennis i didn't have a coach.So the mistake is i either close the racket angle or open it automatically a short moment before ball contact,which means the angle is not stable,every time a little different so it is a matter of luck if i get it on the table or not.No stability.I wonder why he didn't tell me this mistake one and a half years ago.Now maybe it is to late to change this bad habit.Any advice?I am thinkng of quiting table tennis.What is a player without forehand topspin?I don't want to become a defender.

This user has no status.
Nobody's technique is perfect and all it'll take to correct it is intelligent practice. A good start would be to start every shot with a vertical paddle face and close on impact. This helps with your control and spin. Also, make sure you're not shifting your grip around too much within the shot. Shifting between FH and BH is OK, but shifting within the stroke is inviting inconsistency. You'll learn the feel for it with consistent practice and it's only up from there. Try not to get too discouraged friendo, I've come to realize in the last few months that my FH technique is actually horrible. No consistency and pretty low power. But it's a journey to get better and that's half the fun.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2010
Shadow your forehand swing in front of the mirror for ten minutes every night before you go to sleep. Visualize the spin on the ball and make a confident swing. Do it for a month and let me know if you see any improvement. When you plan just play from instinct don't try to change anything consciously even if you miss or lose. Just forget about the results for a month.