Beginner Blade + Rubber

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2017
Hello world. I am new to the forum, this is my first post.

I have been playing regular table tennis for over two years now. For about two years, I have been through about four DHS A4002 paddles. I now feel confident enough, that I want to buy better equipment. I play at work, over lunch, with my coworkers; so we have zero outside reference for good equipment. We are now good enough that we should probably be using better paddles, but apparently I'm the first for this upgrade. So what I am looking for is someone to confirm I am looking at the right thing.

Each of the DHS A4002 paddles I have had has had a different feel. Some were heaver, some lighter, and all of them had non-uniform bounce across the surface of the paddle. What I'm really after is a paddle that has more uniform behavior, so I can be more consistent. I have tried a few of the other cheap paddles we all use, and I seem to do much better with the DHS rubber (G888 & Hurricane3) than the cheap Stiga/Butterfly/Iforgetwhat of the other premade paddles.

Here is what I have come up with:
BladeAllround Classic CarbonFlared Legend (In Stock)
Forehand RubberHurricane 8 Mid2.15 Black (In Stock)
Backhand RubberAcuda Blue P2$0.002.0 Red (In Stock)
Custom Combo Specials Price$139.95

The blade is a Stiga all around classic carbon, rated as an All+. Does this seem like a good start? am I making a mistake? I haven't played with a carbon blade, but after watching a few too many videos and reviews, this seems like what I'm after.

I am in St Louis, Missouri, USA; and planned to buy from paddle palace.

Last edited:
This user has no status.