Exceptional new blade from XIOM - Vega Tour

says Looking for the BH killer shot
Sep 2015
Read 8 reviews
I posted a small comment in the review section on this blade, but want to share some additional details.

A bit on my background, so that the judgements can be referenced a bit better. (if you are only interested in the blade, skip to the Review section :D )

I'm looking for MY setup since years.

I started playing table tennis as a kind with a Banda All wood, with BTY Tackiness D on the BH and Sriver S on the VH. After a serious injury on my right hand, I had to stop playing table tennis for more than 8 years (during the time, when speed glueing was rising). So I came back to a sport that introduced bigger balls, shorter sets and a completly changed to different techniques. Of course material changed also. First problem was, that I couldn't play with blades heavier than 160g in total, because of my hand injury. Basically there were two options - Carbon or Balsa. I tried Balsa first, but couldn't get used to the non-linear speed of Balsa woods. I switched to Carbon and got used to it. Most Carbon blades were way to fast for my play, but some brands came with ALL+ composite blades which I tried playing for a while. Being out for that long, I started with softer rubbers and while getting better and up to my old level, I also switched back to harder rubbers, from Thibar Genius to Thibar Aurus/Aurus Soft and ended up in using XIOM Vega Pro and Vega Japan. But for the wood I still wasn't satisfied with the setup.

Forum users suggested to switch back to an all wood blade, which I tried in various speed dimensions from ALL+ to OFF. The best all wood blade I could find was a Darker 7P-2A all Hinoki wood which I played for more than a year.