Should absolute beginners take lessons or just play?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2024
Hi all, I’m debating if I should take lessons to set my basics correctly, or just start playing a lot and then take lessons to improve what I’m lacking in the future.

Money would be an issue for taking lessons but if it makes sense to have good basic skills I am willing to make the commitment.
Also curious how many lessons would make sense if taking lessons is the way to go?

Thanks in advance!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
Hi all, I’m debating if I should take lessons to set my basics correctly, or just start playing a lot and then take lessons to improve what I’m lacking in the future.

Money would be an issue for taking lessons but if it makes sense to have good basic skills I am willing to make the commitment.
Also curious how many lessons would make sense if taking lessons is the way to go?

Thanks in advance!
Personally I think taking lessons is a huge waste of money, but it kinda depends on the person. Just from watching demonstration clips and stuff, can you intuitively understand what to do and what you're doing wrong?

I would say just pick 1 or 2 things to work on for a few weeks and get those nailed. I mean if you watch a video of how to push underspin, its pretty obvious, isn't it? just kinda slice/push underneath the ball. Just practice this shot for 3 weeks until you are good at it. Then move onto the basic topspin drive for FH and BH.

This user has no status.
i think it depends on your situation. if there are very good players in your club who spend regularly time with you giving you advice and hitting the ball with you (== "coaching" you for free) then maybe not.

else i think its worth it. the level of the coach is important. its better the coach has a (very) good technique and can teach it to you.
i think if money is a problem, its better to see a coach once a month rather than a bad coach every week.