Should I give up using tensor on backhand?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
When I started playing TT again 2 years ago I had the impression that top players use sticky forehand and tensor backhand as the ideal setup. In the past, many top Chinese players used this setup. Even Emratich often teaches that players should use tensor rubber on BH to make up for the lack of swing power.

But through various match play, I'm coming to find that tacky Chinese rubber actually plays better on bh. There is a huge enhancement of push quality, opening loop grip, and return with the tacky bh rubber. The overall control, execution, and dwell time feels better. There is a small decrease in the quality of blocks, and drive shots are slightly slower. But these feel like only minor price to pay for the enhanced areas.

Am I crazy? Anybody else find success switching from tensor to tacky on the backhand?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2023
When I started playing TT again 2 years ago I had the impression that top players use sticky forehand and tensor backhand as the ideal setup. In the past, many top Chinese players used this setup. Even Emratich often teaches that players should use tensor rubber on BH to make up for the lack of swing power.

But through various match play, I'm coming to find that tacky Chinese rubber actually plays better on bh. There is a huge enhancement of push quality, opening loop grip, and return with the tacky bh rubber. The overall control, execution, and dwell time feels better. There is a small decrease in the quality of blocks, and drive shots are slightly slower. But these feel like only minor price to pay for the enhanced areas.

Am I crazy? Anybody else find success switching from tensor to tacky on the backhand?
Agree. You should use what is most comfortable for you. Your body and your play results speak louder than any feedback you get from the forum.