Thinking about getting this setup, any suggestions

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
Andro Rasant 2.1mm (FH)
Donic Baracuda 1.9mm (BH)
Stiga Allround Classic

Total: 92 dollars on table tennis 11.

This is my first real setup after playing with a pre-made bat for a while. Looking to get the best price/performance. Any suggestions appreciated. I'm a beginner so I don't really have a style.

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
If you are coming from a pre-made, why are you looking to have two different rubbers for FH and BH? Do you know what your FH and BH do well? I would choose one rubber an get the same rubber for FH and BH. Unless you actually know how your FH or BH is specialized, and what specifically they need that are different from each other, I would get the same for both. As you develop you may learn what they need that are different. Until then, you are better off using the same rubber for both wings.

The blade is a good one for you to get as a first blade. I would think about getting Baracuda for both sides. Or perhaps getting Vega Europ or Vega Pro and whichever one you get, getting the same on both sides.

I personally think max is fine on that blade. But thickness is your choice. If you are trying to learn to spin, max is useful. If you are more driving the ball and not really working on changing that, thinner rubbers make more sense.

Last edited:
says The sticky bit is stuck.
says The sticky bit is stuck.
Jan 2017
Read 8 reviews
if I were you i would make the baracuda as my forehand rubber because it is spinnier and slower than the rasant. also, make the rasant at 1.9mm thickness.

Rasant is fast, it's a beast at 2.1; a little thinner might work out better. Carl does not agree, and his point about not differentiating BH and FH makes sense to me.