Double serve like in tennis

Experimentally implement this in some lower league?

• Yes

Votes: 5 22.7%
  • No

Votes: 17 77.3%

• Total voters
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Nov 2017
Yeah. I agree. This subject is just not worth bothering with.
As far as the serve advantage in a particular tournament, part of why it is hard to judge that is disparity in player levels.

When ML or FZD play someone where they Win 4-0 -2, -3, -2,-1 they probably won a majority of their opponent’s serve points.
yes, Carl, good thinking, before using a stat one must ensure there's no sources of systematic error. However, there is none in our case. Consider this: when someone wins 4-0 they also probably win a majority of their own serve points as well, don't they? :) I do stats for a living and these sorts of things become immediately obvious after a while.

Rio used a sample of 7000 points for men's game and another 6500 points for women's (which if you add them together budge the percentages to 52.9%) for the total of 13500 points - that's well above what a statistician would usually ask for. These numbers are solid and would be replicated in any tournament at the highest level.

More tidbits: Ma Long, the winner of men's singles event, had 51% of all points scored come from his serves. Ding Ning, the winner of women's singles and a formidable server, achieved a whopping figure of 54.9%. Food for thought.

Last edited:
says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
Your stats don't change my opinion that this is not something worth bothering with. And a stat like the fact that ML won 51% of all his points on his serve simply bolsters my statement that he won most of his opponent's serve points as well. Given the fact that he only lost 2 games in the whole tournament, he did not lose too many of his opponent's serves either. He simply won most of the points.