Bat recommendations for a beginner

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2018
I'm a beginner and I'm looking to get a more competitive, yet relatively cheap, bat that I can use to learn more as well as compete with. Any recommendations?

I play penhold with reverse penhold backhand and I am looking for a pips in bat with high spin and speed.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2018
I'm also mostly looking in the under $60 range, getting this Butterfly for now but I'm trying to find the next step after.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2018
I'm also mostly looking in the under $60 range, getting this Butterfly for now but I'm trying to find the next step after.

Is the $60 including rubber, or just for the blade?

If $60 for the entire package: I think the Yasaka Sweden Extra ($30ish) and Donic Applegren Allplay ($30ish) are nice, inexpensive blades. I think the Tibhar Force Pro Black Edition ($45ish) is what I would get if I had to go back in time and select a blade I would be happy with throughout my playing "career". That would leave you some cash for 2x Palio AK47-Yellow sponge rubber sheets from aliexpress (while not the best at anything, those rubbers seem to be a good balance between quality and price, based on my opinion).

If $60 just for the blade...then I still suggest the blades above and spending more on rubber sheets with a little more mechanical grip that won't slow down the progression of learning spinnier backhand loops and the like.

says The sticky bit is stuck.
says The sticky bit is stuck.
Jan 2017
Read 8 reviews
I'm a beginner and I'm looking to get a more competitive, yet relatively cheap, bat that I can use to learn more as well as compete with. Any recommendations?

I play penhold with reverse penhold backhand and I am looking for a pips in bat with high spin and speed.