Should i upgrade my ancient Butterfly Gergely Tamca 5000

This user has no status.
Hello all.
Sorry if this question got asked before.
I'm a beginner has been playing for around 2-3 years casually.

started playing when i got my dad's unused blade which is gergely tamca 5000.

However after a while using it, i read online that gergely is no longer suitable for modern table tennis play, is it true though?
Should i upgrade to a better & newer version of blade, and if its possible can you recommend a model?
My current FH rubber is Donic Bluestorm Z1 & BH Nittaku Factive

Thanks!

Reactions: IB66
"i read online that gergely is no longer suitable for modern table tennis play"

A bunch of rubbish. Don't believe everything You read. If You like it, play it.
Some people say the same thing about Mark V, also bullshit...

Cheers
L-zr

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
My USATT 2200+ teammate at the NA Teams played with a Gergely. He had an off the bounce countertopspin style. I also remember a 2200+ off the table looper playing with it back in 2017 or so. it doesn't feel good to all styles but if a Primorac Carbon is still playable, a Gergely definitely is, it comes down to personal preference.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
"i read online that gergely is no longer suitable for modern table tennis play"

A bunch of rubbish. Don't believe everything You read. If You like it, play it.
Some people say the same thing about Mark V, also bullshit...

Cheers
L-zr
Mark V, I don't know about that, it suits certain styles but no professional offensive player is going to be using it as is for sure.

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews