What should I learn first and how do I proceed?

says Serve, top, edge. Repeat.
May 2020
Read 1 reviews
Hello!

I started penhold a bit before Christmas and want to learn on what I should focus first.

I have been playing for over 6 years and from now I'll be practicing 5 days a week. So I have decent experience and have also competed in local league.

Regarding penhold, my coach doesn't know the first thing about it, so I've done a good amount of research and have a vague idea on what to do and how to proceed, hold racket, grip, pressure points, basic technique and what not, mainly from Wang Hao instructional video, mlfm and emrattich. Also, I've told my coach to continue giving me normal exercises with lower level teammates until I figure everything out, so that I receive easier balls and have an easier time advancing.

My main question has to do with the backhand. From what I've seen, most ppl say that shakers get the hang of rpb quick and I've seen that with my self as well. So is traditional backhand needed, or if I should skip it and focus on rpb? Is there any benefit I could be loosing if I don't learn tpb?

By the way, my equipment currently is yeo, hurricane 2 neo (not skyline or hurricane 3) and vega europe. Have ordered a skyline 2 blue sponge, (canceled it and bought xuperman powerplay x), because hurricane 2 was sent by mistake and kinda hate it... Blade is ok, though it's a bit slow, but backhand is ok, no issues there.

Thanks for reading and happy holidays to everyone! Sending love!

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
The coach doesn't need to know anything about c-pen. The basics are the same. The physic of TT doesn't change depending on whether you are playing c-pen or shake hands. The differences between c-pen and shake hands are small.

TPB does require getting used to. You need to contort your wrist or roll the paddle between the pointer finger and the thumb.