Which Hurricane 3 version?

says Serve, top, edge. Repeat.
May 2020
Read 1 reviews
Hello everyone!

I have been playing for about 7 years and have found the hurricane 3 and hurricane 3 neo rubbers (commercial versions) to suit my style pretty much perfectly.

My blade is the stiga intensity nct and currently I have a commercial hurricane 3 (non neo) 40° 2.2 and I'm looking for an upgrade.

A few years back I played the commercial neo (41° 2.2) on a viscaria, I was satisfied until the top sheet separated from the sponge and started to annoy me because I couldn't find a replacement anywhere in Greece. I ended up buying a classic h3 from aliexpress to give it a try and see the difference from the neo.

On the viscaria it played horribly, I felt it had no feeling, it was nothing like the neo. I decided to take it off and put a tenergy 05 and be done with it.

Fast forward 4 years and I dug up that old classic h3 (purple box) and threw it on my current blade (stiga intensity). I had put 2 hearty layers of baby oil to tune it a bit, but I forgot it for like 3 months, so I'm 99% sure it has no effect anymore.

When I put it on I was shocked... It's nothing like I remember, on the intensity it plays like a dream... It's blazing fast and the spin is simply out of this world. The rubber holds the ball without that shallow metallic feel that the viscaria gave and gives me perfect understanding for what's happening with spin and speed. And the feeling, omg... I'm just convinced that the rubber didn't suit the viscaria. Or I didn't suit the viscaria, idk...

I'm pretty confused as to if the feeling would be even better if it was a neo on the intensity, just like the neo was better on the viscaria. If I put the neo on the intensity, would it be even better or would it become similar to the uncertainty of the viscaria?

But my hurricane ptsd started to resurface...