Zhang Jike ALC Blade... Review

This user has no status.
Look what arrived today!
I have just put two sheets of MX-P on it and I look forward to reviewing later on in the week.

My initial thoughts:
I have wanted to use this blade for over a year. I was due to replace my Viscaria so decided to be impulsive and just buy it.
It weights almost identical to my Viscaria and feels very similar. Reports I've read is that the Zhang Jike ALC is slightly quicker.

Everything about this blade feels premium It is a lovely design, which is well crafted and a professional package to compliment it. I will let you know what I think ASAP!

IMG_5163.jpgIMG_5162.jpg

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2016
I have been using this blade for nearly 7 months and I have tried a number of rubbers on it. I think this is a good blade but may no be faster than Viscria than you thought.

This user has no status.
I have played with this set up three times now and feel confident to give you a update.

Zhang Jike ALC
This blade, as expected, plays very similar to the Viscaria Blade. I am not 100% sure (maybe someone could confirm?), but I think it's made up of the same wood veneers as the Viscaria. Despite this, it does have some differences. It feels more comfortable in the hand. Moreover, if you wanted to try the Viscaria but aren't a fan of the flared handle, you can get this blade in Straight and Anatomical. It seems slightly quicker and crispier, especially on driving and smashing. It has a lovely dwell time which really excels when looping or trying to impact spin on the ball. I would say that the Viscaria feel slightly softer and offers more dwell time. The sweet-spot is fairly large, but it's not as large as the ZLC or Super ZLC. You can definitely feel that the ball doesn't come off the blade as sweet around the edges.
Overall I am very happy with this blade - Except the price tag!

Evolution MX-P