Advice for my first 'real' bat

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2016
Have been playing for 6 months and wanted to replace my cheap £7 premade bat.

I'm a shakehand all round (mainly attacker) and was wondering what type of blade/rubbers to buy.
My backhand is fast but forehand is slower/still needs work.
Don't chop or counter much (want to learn to counter better soon)

My budget is only £30 for everything, it's just a hobby - I'll only be playing throughout university.

Thoughts on the Galaxy N-9 with 2x CJ8000 42-44? Will it be too hard to play with if I'm still learning (from what I see its for very very fast players?)

Welcome to all suggestions :D

Last edited:
Reactions: BeGo
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2015
N-9 is a good blade, (My blade) and you can't go wrong with it, I know because it's the only blade I've used for any length of time. Anyway, my first setup had a Galaxy Mercury 2 in 36 degrees, and a 9000d in 35. It worked pretty well and I couldn't really miss from the forehand (Looping backspin is so easy even compared to an MX-P), the 9000d is slow, but it will do for a beginner.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Mar 2015
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
This user has been banned.
Feb 2016
blade doesn't really matter, all blades are the same thing.
for rubbers try to buy good rubbers like donic bluefire.
you can even use tenergy.

I'd stay away from chinese rubbers because later you need to modify technique when you move to euro tensors/tenergy, which is what most players do in the end.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2016
Thanks for the advice everyone, which of these would you recommend?

Blade: £9 N-9 OR £12 Earth E-3 OR £14 Mercury Y-15 OR £15 Palio R57 OR £15.1 T-11+

BH: £8.2 729 729-5 OR £10 Sanwei T88

FH: £10 729 729-08 OR £5 729 729 Higher OR £7 Tuttle Beijing 2 OR £? NEO Hurricane 3 (maybe I can get this, maybe not)