Does anyone play with a torn rotator cuff?

says beginner (rating 700)
May 2019
A couple years ago I was having shoulder pain (and not playing any table tennis at all) and was diagnosed with calcific tendonitis. I got a cortisone injection and did a couple months of physical therapy. I think the injection helped, and don't think the physical therapy helped at all.

Then last June I started playing table tennis every week, and in August the pain in my shoulder started coming back. An MRI revealed that I have a partially torn rotator cuff. I got a second injection, and that worked beautifully. I continued playing table tennis every week and never had any pain at all until 2 weeks ago.

I think I overpracticed a couple weeks ago just before my first ever USATT tournament. The morning after practice, my shoulder was hurting real bad. I took Tylenol and participated in the tournament the next day pain-free, but had more pain after that, and I have not played any table tennis since then.

I saw the doctor again and got a third injection as well as a prescription anti-inflammatory. Most of the pain is gone now, but I still feel a little discomfort, so I might continue to take a break for another 1-2 weeks.

I definitely want to avoid rotator cuff surgery if possible, as there are USATT tournaments later this year that I have already signed up for, and I definitely don't want to miss my office tournament later this year. I read that surgery could have a 1 year recovery time, and have seen people on the internet say they still feel pain in their shoulder even years after surgery.

I'm hoping this third injection can last at least 10 months like the first and second injections did. I also need to work on improving my technique, because I probably swing mostly with my shoulder, instead of rotating my hips. I should also probably try to find a better physical therapist, as I don't think the one I visited a couple years ago did anything to help me.