Should i change to carbon or stick with all wood?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2022
Orginally I was just looking for a new blade that was fatser and had a larger sweet spot, so I thought of buying a carbon blade, some suggested against and some suggested it. So now im just trying to figure outif i should go for a carbon blade or not, or if I am ready for a carbon or not. I hope you guys can help me decide.😁 here are some info that might be important. Thx in adavance

Im currently playing with the korbel japan blade. I am offensive player who can topspin from both wings pretty consistenty. I rely on my serves to set me up to finish the point with a fast topspin on the 3rd or 5th ball. My other basic techniques are decently developed as well with the exception of looping backspin balls. I am still learning how to loop properly. I think my spin generation and and touch and feel of the ball is also quite decent. (my coach also compliments me often saying that my feeling of the ball is really gud 🤣😅) I have competed in tournaments a few times, all of them were school team tournaments. The most official and serious was a tournamemt where most school team in Hong Kong compete in.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Aug 2021
Read 1 reviews
. My other basic techniques are decently developed as well with the exception of looping backspin balls. I am still learning how to loop properly.

If I were you, I would stick to your BTY Korbel (Japan). First, it is an excellent blade that you can use for a long time.

Second, and the most important thing is, you are still learning to loop properly. In this case, it is better to use all-wood blade. I don't say that you can't learn to loop properly using a carbon blade, but it is easier to do that with all-wood blade. So, stick with your current blade and practice more.

Just in case you are itching to try carbon blade, then here are few blades for looping the ball easier: