What is a compact stroke?

says I'm still learning Table Tennis.
Nov 2022
I came across a comment on YouTube advising elderly players to play a compact stroke, similar to Timo Ball, in order to conserve energy during the game. The video is about lifting (topspin) backspin balls. What is a compact stroke? Is there any such thing as a compact stroke?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
I came across a comment on YouTube advising elderly players to play a compact stroke, similar to Timo Ball, in order to conserve energy during the game. The video is about lifting (topspin) backspin balls. What is a compact stroke? Is there any such thing as a compact stroke?
Stroke that doesn't overly engage the upper arm. Motion is driven by the body. A large stroke can be somewhat compact if the upper arm usage is largely driven by the body like the Chinrse do, but in most amateurs, it is driven by using the upper arm/shoulder joint excessively and this makes recovery difficult. When you drive upper arm movement with the core, the recovery is much easier and faster. When you swing the upper arm by itself, you need to reset the upper arm.

That is how I have come to discuss and analyze compact strokes over time.

Nov 2022
Stroke that doesn't overly engage the upper arm. Motion is driven by the body. A large stroke can be somewhat compact if the upper arm usage is largely driven by the body like the Chinrse do, but in most amateurs, it is driven by using the upper arm/shoulder joint excessively and this makes recovery difficult. When you drive upper arm movement with the core, the recovery is much easier and faster. When you swing the upper arm by itself, you need to reset the upper arm.

Thanks. That makes very much sense.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2019
Compact strokes are actually harder to learn. One would have learned how to use the body power and relax to have an effective compact strokes.