Advice to improve my game.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2023
I started playing table tennis for almost a year ago. I spent 90% of my time focusing on techniques, practicing different strokes. I moved to NJ recently, couldn't find any partner to practice anymore so I had to join a local club. People often compliment on my techniques but I got crushed easily when playing matches. Below are the some videos as examples.

I got caught out of position many times in the match above so I was trying to be more aware of that in this second match.

It seems my two opponents didn't used all of their tricks yet just to make the match more entertaining. After doing homework, I guess my most weaknesses are: positioning, anticipation, reading spin on serve return, and weak backhand loop/drive. My returns often float high or dump into net (as shown in the last few point in the second video). And it seems I often react too late on many shots eventhough my feet/hand are quicker than that.

May you please advise what should I work on first to improve my match play the fastest and how? Any help is really appreciated!!!

Equipment: I used to use a premade Joola Omega Strata racket (which I liked) for 10 months but recently upgraded to Nittaku Acoustic with Milky Way Mercury 2/Palio Ak47 Yellow on forehand/backhand which give me more feeling and power.

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2023
I started playing table tennis for almost a year ago. I spent 90% of my time focusing on techniques, practicing different strokes. I moved to NJ recently, couldn't find any partner to practice anymore so I had to join a local club. People often compliment on my techniques but I got crushed easily when playing matches. Below are the some videos as examples.

I got caught out of position many times in the match above so I was trying to be more aware of that in this second match.