Complete video guide: How to cut and glue rubbers on a table tennis bat

This user has no status.
Finally finished a complete video instructional guide for how to cut, glue, and assemble a table tennis bat from scratch. Recognise there are other really experienced people here who are also great at setting up bats - this was my method.

Background: A film student approached me to ask if I'd volunteer to be a subject in an assignment to make a sports documentary. I consented and also took the opportunity to video an instructional guide on how to assemble a table tennis bat - I've been setting up bats since 2018.

While I'm looking forward to seeing the final result of that documentary project, I've whipped up a simple edit of the guide.

I've been wanting to do it for over a year now so I was glad for the opportunity to share some knowledge and experience.

Hope this video helps someone!

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2023
Nice Video!

Good trick about the drop of oil on the cutter. I would say my glue jobs are pretty decent, but my cuts look like crap... 🙈 Despite clicking off the blade tip for each new rubber. Maybe the oil helps.

Have you ever tried scissors for cutting, what are your experiences?

I always use 2 layers of regular Revolution on the blade and 3 on the rubber. You seem to use less. Have you experimented with more / less layers and what are your experiences?

This user has no status.
Thanks! Yeah, the oil does help - basically anything that reduces the friction between the blade and the rubber sponge. Rubbers like Butterfly's Tenergy, Tibhar's Evolution, Xiom's Vega series tend to have softer, more brittle sponges, particularly when compared against the hard sponges in 'traditional' Chinese rubbers.