Hurricane Long V vs Viscaria

says Serve, top, edge. Repeat.
May 2020
Read 1 reviews
Hello everyone,

This is a long one, so buckle up.

I wanted to share my experience with my DHS Hurricane Long V.
I will compare it to the old (5,7mm) Viscaria, since it's the only other carbon blade I have, and I have a lot of experience with it.
I mention the Viscaria because it's very popular, and at this point, it's the benchmark.

Regarding rubbers, I put on my old Butterfly Tenergy 05 (2.1) and old Donic bluestorm Z3 (2.1), boosted both of them with 2 layers of baby oil and let them dry for about 12 hours, it wasn't nearly enouph, the mojority of the oil didn't get absorbed and the rubbers didn't stick. So I cleaned off whatever oil wasn't fully absorbed and expected it to feel like cr@p.

To say I was surprized would be an understatement. Even with me effing up the rubbers, the blade played really well.

- Feel:

The feel of the Long V was much softer than the Viscaria, understandably so because of the softer outer wood and inner arylate carbon. Weirdly enough, it didn't have many vibrations, it was pretty stiff. But again it makes sense because it's a thick blade, 6mm while Viscaria is 5,7. (the updated Vis is 5,8)

- Dwell:

The blade had bundles of dwell, a lot more than the Viscaria. You could feel the ball just sink into the blade and not worry for it shooting off like you do with the Viscaria.

- Weight:

Weight is a weird one, I didn't measure the weight of either blade before the gluing. The Long V feels pretty much the same exact weight, but has it more towards the head. If I had to guess, I would say the weight is between 85 and 90 gramms.

**Update: weight of long v is 90 and viscaria is 88.

- Sweet spot:

I would say that it's almost identical. The long V has a taller sweet spot because it has a longer head, while the Viscaria has a wider sweet spot for the opposite reason.

- Forehand: