Sponge hardness on rubbers

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Dec 2023
Hey.
I'm somewhat new to shopping for rubbers for my blade and getting a bit confused by the sponge hardness differences.
Stiga f.ex says its medium hardness is around 47,5 degree, but butterfly's 09C f.ex is classified as a Hard rubber but is only 44 degree????
Anyone that can give me a quick lesson on this?
I'v used club-bought Joola rubbers until now, but looking at f.ex Stiga rubbers atm. Looking at H and M or M and S and I am confused. Looking at the Joola rubbers I'm using atm, Rhzym tech 47.5 and Rhyzm 42.5 are the sponge hardness comparable to Stiga?
Tnx :)
/Espen

Last edited:
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2019
Read 3 reviews
Hey.
I'm somewhat new to shopping for rubbers for my blade and getting a bit confused by the sponge hardness differences.
Stiga f.ex says its medium hardness is around 47,5 degree, but butterfly's 09C f.ex is classified as a Hard rubber but is only 44 degree????
I'v used club-bought Joola rubbers until now, but looking at f.ex Stiga rubbers atm. Looking at H and M or M and S and I am confused. Looking at the Joola rubbers I'm using atm, Rhzym tech 47.5 and Rhyzm 42.5 are the sponge hardness comparable to Stiga?
/Espen
From my experience the Joola and Stiga rubbers hardness is comparable :)

• Love
Reactions: Crillo and Esp3nB
This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jul 2017
Hey.
Hardness is a personal preference. Some people like the feel of harder rubbers. There is a "Goldilocks" zone. The rubbers can be too hard or too soft. Also, the hardness of rubbers has nothing to do with how elastic it is.
Faster rubber will bel more elastic.
There are formulas for computing the speed after impact given the elasticity of the rubber. There is not such thing for the hardness of rubber. Again, some people prefer the feel of hard rubber and some like softer rubber.

/Espen