Why does Butterfly make sponges in 2.1 and 1.9mm?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2022
I notice that Butterfly makes their rubbers in 2.1mm and 1.9mm. Most Esn rubbers are 2.2 or 2.0mm. Why is this?

Is it because BTY uses thicker topsheets and the total rubber is the same thickness as esn? Or is it because BTY total rubber thickness is lower than esn?

Is there a benefit or reason for doing it this way?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Apr 2023
I am not an expert in Butterfly products but I imagine 2.1mm sponge of Dignics 05 or Tenergy 05 hard is plenty fast. I don't think you need to go to 2.2mm sponge.

I just ordered a sheet of Dignics 64 1.9mm to try and a sheet of Tenergy 80 1.9mm to try for the exact reason as stated above. I am pretty sure 1.9mm is fast enough.

As for why Dignics series does not come in 1.7mm, Butterfly must believe that choppers or defensive players are not interested in that series since it is supposedly faster than Tenergy. Tenergy 05fx and the rest of the Tenergy fx series are very popular with choppers so they do offer 1.7mm sponge to attact those defense-based players.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jan 2021
But not only choppers use 1.7. The difference between 1.7 and 1.9 is not that big and slightly more control (and yes, a little less speed) and a bit less weight benefits a lot of players. Maybe not on forehand but on backhand.

But I guess they know what they are doing. At least what the make money from! :)

2.1 beeing max is probably due to over-all thickness. However a T64 must be thicker than a T05.

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2014
Read 17 reviews
I notice that Butterfly makes their rubbers in 2.1mm and 1.9mm. Most Esn rubbers are 2.2 or 2.0mm. Why is this?

Is it because BTY uses thicker topsheets and the total rubber is the same thickness as esn? Or is it because BTY total rubber thickness is lower than esn?