Can I bring many rackets with different setup to a tournament?

says I'm still learning Table Tennis.
Nov 2022
Let's say I want to bring 3 different setup, each with a spare (so six in total) to a single tournament. The plan is I want to change my racket before each match if I knew what my opponent setup is or who my opponent is.

Is this allowed under ITTF rules?

I know this is a silly question but I really want to know 😅

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Sep 2013
Read 3 reviews
Let's say I want to bring 3 different setup, each with a spare (so six in total) to a single tournament. The plan is I want to change my racket before each match if I knew what my opponent setup is or who my opponent is.

Is this allowed under ITTF rules?

I know this is a silly question but I really want to know 😅
before each match - yes it is allowed

I only know of one high level player that is competent in changing different setups when ever he wants (he has over 20, and consist of hand made blades with inverted both sides, or one sides with sp, mp, lp etc)
he is in his 50s today and still train 6 hours a day, 6 days a week (coach/training partner at the moment in a pro team)

so, its technically possible, but crazy to say the least

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Feb 2024
I bring at least 4 rackets to each tournament. Sometimes I use one. Other times I may use up to 3. BTW, even supposedly the exact same model blade and rubbers may play different. As long as you keep the same racket per match (baring an equipment failure) you are ok. I have no idea about racket testing-never seen that at a local tournament.

Reactions: Kopp
Nov 2022
before each match - yes it is allowed

I only know of one high level player that is competent in changing different setups when ever he wants (he has over 20, and consist of hand made blades with inverted both sides, or one sides with sp, mp, lp etc)