Can you regain what you once had?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Oct 2011
I started playing again about a year ago, just for something to do!

I haven't played for 10 years and haven't done much sport wise in that time. Which has meant*I've had to change my game a fair bit since re starting, due to not being fit or fast enough to cover the table with just my forehand anymore.*

This season I decided to put a little more into it so have worked on getting fitter and I've also practiced once a week.*

My question is, at almost 40 is it possible to regain the speed (or at least some of it) around the table? I don't struggle at all fitness wise now but I do feel very slow & it's very frustrating when I try and move to a shot that previously I wouldn't have had trouble with, but just fail miserably!

Am I asking to much of myself?

I'm not over weight, and was top 50 standard back in the day!!

Thanks all

says Spin and more spin.
says Spin and more spin.
Super Moderator
Dec 2010
Read 11 reviews
Do shadow footwork drills on days when you are not at the table. 15-20 minutes of things like Falkenberg or 1-2-3-2-1 with the forehand. Keep practicing them. They will get you moving faster and get your legs stronger and build your endurance. Of course, if you can do more that is great, but 15-20 minutes of things like that will be a lot of work. And you will find your speed coming back to some extent. How much work you do on getting fit and how much time you spend away from the table getting in good shape will determine how much of your old speed you can get back. 40 is not too old.

I am 46. I played as a kid but never really was good and never had real training. I started again after about 20 years of not playing and i am way better than I ever was. I guess it is a different scenario but, you can do it.

Dan

says editing a big TTD Team episode... stay tuned 👀

Dan

says editing a big TTD Team episode... stay tuned 👀
Administrator
Aug 2010
Read 72 reviews