Using a Blade designed for table tennis - Why isn't everyone making the switch!?

This user has no status.
This user has no status.
Jun 2021
OK, so my background is in physics, I analyse a lot.

For some time I felt frustrated that table tennis rackets don't allow the use of the wrist to accelerate the ball FORWARD effectively. This is really obvious because when you watch the professionals play, they tend to contort their wrist in the most ridiculous way to hit the ball effectively (eg. Ovcharov backhand or Timo's forehand)

Now obviously, it works for them - I get that. You can make anything work I suppose if you try hard enough.

However, wouldn't it make more sense to use a table tennis racket DESIGNED for table tennis?

I think it's pretty obvious that the modern rackets we have all been using forever (there's a hint, forever! No change, what does that tell you!?) have NEVER been designed. Seriously a round paddle with a handle in the middle.

So to articulate my biggest concern, when we look at the moment we contact the ball on the forehand for example, if you give your wrist a flick to add some kick - the racket head actually moves to your left (if you are right handed). In other words, it moves 90 degree in the wrong direction (unless you contort yourself almost risking injury).

So after many years frustration, I designed a racket that makes more sense. Then I found out about the Nittaku Tenaly rackets - I bought one, and must admit that their design was much better than mine. Whilst the general shape was the same, the angles are more correct.

I have found that after the first few sessions where I was topping edging the ball a bit, everything works better. Much easier to add an extra kick with the wrist - much more spin for serves, especially the tomahawk. I had been a bit concerned that pushing wouldn't be so good (or at least I wasn't sure), but to my surprise, it's a significant improvement for pushing also. Flicking feels more natural.